Top 5 Portland Trail Blazers Teams of All-Time

Founded in 1970, the Trailblazers have won 1 NBA Championship, played in 3 NBA Finals, and appeared in the playoffs 36 times in 50 seasons. Over the years these Portland teams were led by star players such as Clyde Drexler, Bill Walton, Damian Lillard, Terry Porter, and Brandon Roy.

5. 1999-2000 59-23 (Lost Conference Finals)

The Best Title-Less Trail Blazers Team: 1999-00 Squad - Blazer's Edge

Kicking off the countdown we have the 1999-2000 Trailblazers team. The team was led by Rasheed Wallace, Scottie Pippen, and Steve Smith. In the first round of the playoffs the Blazers beat the Minnesota Timberwolves 3-1. In the next round Portland beat Utah in 5 games. In the conference finals the Blazers lost in a 7 game series to a Lakers team that featured Kobe Bryant and Shaquille O’Neal.

4. 1991-1992 57-25 (Lost Finals)

What if the Portland Trail Blazers had beaten the Chicago Bulls in the 92  finals?

The #4 spot belongs to the 1991-1992 team. Coached by Rick Adelman, this team breezed through the regular season winning 57 games which secured a first place finish in the Western Conference. In the playoffs, the Trailblazers beat the Lakers, Suns and Jazz to set up a NBA Finals matchup against the defending champion, the Chicago Bulls. Unfortunately, MJ and the Bulls proved to be too much as they went on to win the series in 6 games.

3. 1989-1990 59-23 (Lost Finals)

Terry Porter through the years

At #3 we have the 1989-1990 team. This team was led by Clyde Drexler, Terry Porter, and Kevin Duckworth. Drexler led the team averaging 23.3 points per game. Buck Williams grabbed 9.8 rebounds per game and Jerome Kersey added 8.4 boards per game. Portland beat Dallas, San Antonio, and Phoenix in the playoffs. Portland faced off against the Detroit Pistons in the finals. Isiah Thomas and company were too much for the Trailblazers to handle and ended up winning the series in 5 games.

2. 1990-1991 63-19 (Lost Conference Finals)

The Best Title-Less NBA Teams: The 1990-91 Trail Blazers Need You ...

Coming in at #2 we have the 1990-1991 team. The Blazers cruised to 63 regular season wins and won the Pacific Division. The dream season came to a halt in the Western Conference Playoffs after Portland fell 4-2 to the Los Angeles Lakers. Clyde Drexler finished the season averaging 21.5 PPG, 6.7 RPG, and 6.0 APG, and Terry Porter averaged 17.0 PPG. Kevin Duckworth and Jerome Kersey provided significant contributions as well.

1. 1976-1977 49-33 (Won Finals)

Portland Trail Blazers | Discography | Discogs

Our top spot belongs to the 1976-1977 team. This team won the only championship in franchise history. While the Blazers didn’t have an overly impressive regular season, they were able to win when it mattered. The Blazers faced Julius Erving and the 76ers in the finals and won the series in six games. The Blazers were led by Maurice Lucas, Wally Walker, and Bill Walton.

About allsportsrankings 29 Articles
Every Sports Ranking Under the Sun

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply