Top 5 Washington Wizards Teams of All-Time

Since 1961 the franchise has moved from Chicago to Baltimore to Washington and has changed their name from the Zephyrs to the Packers to the Bullets to the Wizards. In the 1970’s the Wizards appeared in four NBA finals. However, since that decade the Wizards franchise has not seen a ton of success. Current stars like John Wall and Bradley Beal provide hope for Wizards fans as they try to turn the franchise around.

5. 2016-2017 49-33 (Lost in Eastern Conference Semifinals)

At #5 we have the 2016-2017 team. The Wizards were led by John Wall (23.1 PPG) and Bradley Beal (23.1 PPG). The Zards opened up the playoffs beating Atlanta (4-2) in the first round before falling to Boston in Game 7 in the Eastern Conference Semifinals.

4. 1972-1973 52-30 (Lost in Conference Semifinals)

The 4th spot belongs to the 1972-1973 team. The Baltimore Bullets were led by Elvin Hayes, Phil Chenier, Mike Riordan, Wes Unseld, and Archie Clark. The Bullets cruised to 52 wins to finish 1st in the Central Division. However, Baltimore struggled in the playoffs and fell to the New York Knicks in the Eastern Conference Semifinals.

3. 1978-1979 54-28 (Lost in Finals)

At #3 we have the 1978-1979 Wizards team. Elvin Hayes averaged 21.8 points per game, Bob Daindridge added 20.4 points per game, and Wes Unseld added 10.9 points per game and 10.8 rebounds per game. The Bullets beat the Hawks and the Spurs before facing the SuperSonics in the NBA Finals. The Bullets opened the series with a 99-97 win, but went on to drop the next four games losing the series 4-1.

2. 1974-1975 60-22 (Lost in Finals)

The 1974-1975 team holds the Wizards Franchise Record for regular season wins. Elvin Hayes led the team with 23.0 PPG and Phil Chenier added 21.8 PPG. The Bullets opened the playoffs beating the Buffalo Braves 4-3 in the Eastern Conference Semifinals. In the Conference Finals the Bullets beat the Celtics in a six game series. Washington’s season would end after losing to the Golden State Warriors in the finals.

1. 1977-1978 44-38 (Won Finals)

At our top spot we have the 1977-1978 team. This is the only team to win an NBA title in the franchise’s history. Led by Elvin Hayes, Bob Dandridge, and Wes Unseld the Bullets defeated the Atlanta Hawks, San Antonio Spurs, and the Philadelphia 76ers before beating the Seattle SuperSonics in 7 games in the NBA finals.

About allsportsrankings 29 Articles
Every Sports Ranking Under the Sun

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply